Skip to content

Resources for Seniors and a Short Story

29/08/2010

But Why Would You Do That?

Over the last 4 weeks I have heard that question over and over. Here’s why: my client, who is 90 years old, is moving back east to be near her daughter and son-in-law. Now we all know how much work is involved in getting ready for a cross-country move, right? Can you imagine how stressful it was for the daughter to think about her 90-year-old mother having to face that without her here to help?

Well, I could so I did everything in my power to help out. I introduced the family to a wonderful service called ‘Caring Transitions’ to help with the packing and sorting and estate sale. To keep costs down and ensure continuity, I went over there myself 3 hours a day, 3 times a week for 3 weeks to help with the sorting. To me, this didn’t seem like a big chore – this was an opportunity to listen to some really good stories from an extraordinary woman.

Assisting in getting the doctor’s office here to send the required paperwork to the doctor in D.C. was not exactly within the realm of your usual real estate service but only took a bit of my time so, why not help? Some of my colleagues said “I would never…” and “what a time waster” but is it really a waste of time to help another human being? Even if it’s not in your ‘job description’?

Because sometimes life is not so simple and it’s okay to give a client more than they are paying you for…isn’t it?
SENIOR RESOURCES IN KANSAS CITY

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

